September 30, 2014



A note from the author: I'm so excited for BETWEEN THE STARS AND SKY to finally be released. This book is... different for me. First, it's a contemporary story. It's real. It could happen. Writing something like that was so different for me I wasn't sure if I could do it. But then I found these characters, and in Jackson and Sarah I found a place where I loved to write. Second, this story. THIS STORY. I didn't think I would get through it. It's one of those stories that is so big and so small and so delicate and so IN YOUR FACE lovely and scary and sad and happy that I wasn't sure I could make it through this book alive. But again, THESE CHARACTERS. I love them. And I love this story. It's a minimalistic story, so there is very little filler. Just words that mean something. To Jackson, the main character, this is important. I took what was important to the characters and reflected that in the way I told the story. This isn't a long story, but it is a big one. Complete with a crazy, scary dare, a secret game. A test of bravery. A love story. Kisses. Betrayals. First loves. Second loves. Diverse loves. All kinds of loves. Life and death. Fear and not. And in the end, I'm not sure if this story wrote me, or I wrote it. I guess you'll find out. :)

If you have questions about the content of this story, READ HERE.

"Between the Stars and Sky is a vivid contemporary novel from Young Adult author David James. Lyrical and deeply romantic, Between the Stars and Sky is a poetic and heart-stopping read for fans of Lauren Oliver, Gayle Forman, and E. Lockhart.

 In the small, lakeside town of Huntington, the Firelight Festival marks the end of summer. A time to laugh, to live, to love. And for Jackson Grant, it is a chance to begin again. But there is a darker side to the Firelight Festival, a deadly tradition known as the Firelight Fall. A secret game. A legendary lie. A test of bravery. Those who fall risk everything, and Jackson is on the edge. Until he meets a girl who pushes him over. For Jackson, falling for Sarah Blake might be as dangerous as jumping in the Firelight Fall. As summer burns away, Jackson and Sarah ignite an unstoppable love game. For her, his heart is on fire. And soon, Sarah shows him life, saves him from loss, and opens his heart to an infinite and wild love found between the stars and sky."


David James writes books about stars and kisses and curses. He is the author of the YA novel, LIGHT OF THE MOON, the first book in the Legend of the Dreamer duet, as well as the companion novellas, THE WITCH'S CURSE and THE WARRIOR’S CODE. A Legend of the Dreamer anthology, SHADES OF THE STARS, was released July 2013, and includes the exclusive novella, THE ENCHANTER'S FIRE. The final book in the duet, SHADOW OF THE SUN, will be released in 2015. BETWEEN THE STARS AND SKY is his first contemporary novel for young adults. Living in Michigan, he is addicted to coffee, gummy things, and sarcastic comments. David enjoys bad movies, goofy moments, and shivery nights. Also, hipster glasses!



September 28, 2014

All the pre-order links are still up, but BETWEEN THE STARS AND SKY went LIVE EARLY for Kindle! You can read it now! NOW! AH! That cover could be on your Kindle. Click it. Check it. Go crazy. ‪#‎Excited‬

September 26, 2014

Pre-order Links!

BETWEEN THE STARS AND SKY is out next Tuesday, but you can get it not! Pre-order it today and it will be delivered to you on Tuesday. Easy as that. Here are the links.

Pre-order at...

Barnes & Noble


Kobo and other formats

September 22, 2014


Q1) Is BETWEEN THE STARS AND SKY a Young Adult book or New Adult?

A1) Technically, it does deal with character who are 18 and over. Most would claim this is NA, but I don't. To me, BETWEEN THE STARS AND SKY is very much a YA book. The characters are not in college, but before. They're still dealing with things we deal with before college, especially in the summer. There is sex, yes, but it is not explicit. There is swearing, yes, but not a lot. It will be marketed as a YA book and so that is what it shall be.

Q2) What's it about?

A2) It's a love story that's not a love story. The story takes place in a place town during the weeks of a town festival called the Firelight Festival. Dangerous things happen. People fall in love. People don't.

Q3) That doesn't tell me much. Why?

A3) BETWEEN THE STARS AND SKY is a minimalistic story. I promise you, every detail you ever need is on the page for you. But the story itself is rooted more in what's not said than what is. And in that, there's this kind of beauty that lends itself well for discussion. Everything is there for you, but it's up to you to see it. The story is complete. It's done. There is no cliffhanger. But there is a lot to wonder about a story where a lot of the filler is taken out and you're only left with the things you truly need. With its minimalistic qualities, this story certainly isn't for everyone, but it's a story from the heart.

Q4) So it's not part of a series?

A4) Not this time. BETWEEN is a complete standalone. Jackson and Sarah have their story and this book is it. They won't have another. I keep thinking about adding a Book 2 and telling the story of Miles and Sean, but I haven't decide that yet. Stay tuned.

Q5) What was your favorite scene to write in BETWEEN?

A5) I really liked writing the funny scenes between Sarah and Jackson. A lot of the time, I'm a serious writer - I like serious moments. So it was different for me to write sarcasm and funny lines between the two main characters in this book. I really liked it.

Q6) What was the most difficult scene for you to write?

A6) The end. It was hard to get the mix of it just where I wanted it to be. And without spoilers, I wanted the ended to have no cliffhanger and be a mix of all the different emotions played out in the story. It was difficult to write how I was feeling about these characters at the end of the story.

Q7) How many gummy bears/butterflies/worms were eaten during your writing process?

A7) You don't even want to know.

Be sure to add BETWEEN THE STARS AND SKY to your Goodreads list HERE.
And follow the Facebook page HERE for updated information.

September 19, 2014



Here we go! Exclusively on facebook this week, we met the cast of BETWEEN THE STARS AND SKY! Now you can see them here. Next week, we'll have more secrets revealed on the blog, facebook, and twitter, but for now check out the cast and see what they look like. If you have any questions about BETWEEN THE STARS AND SKY leave them in the comments section and I'll be sure to answer them as best I can. What do you think about these awesome characters? Are you as excited as I am about this release?!

September 15, 2014

Character Profiles

Starting today, check out the character profiles for the cast of BETWEEN THE STARS AND SKY. These profiles are only on facebook and only this week! Be sure to stop by the page and check them out and maybe win some things. :)

September 10, 2014

Are you ready?

Come meet the cast of Between the Stars and Sky! This Monday on facebook.

One character will be revealed daily!

September 1, 2014

10 Facts about Between the Stars and Sky

10 Facts about Between the Stars and Sky

1) The town of Huntington is fictional. But slightly Gilmore Girls-ish.

2) The main character, Jackson Grant, has a best friend named Miles. 

3) Miles and his boyfriend, Sean, are featured in a novella at the end of Between the Stars and Sky.

4) Sarah Blake's father is a jerk. 

5) There is a woman in Huntington named Mrs. Porter. Who is crazy. She has slept with every single mayor of the last decade. Awkward.

6) Jackson wears boxers. And, according to Mrs. Porter, has nice arms. *

7) Sarah is an artist. She destroys every piece of art she creates.

8) Jackson tells stories. Some of them are true. Some are not.

9) Jackson introduced Miles and Sean.

10) Between the Stars and Sky is a love story. And it's not.

* see. 

Be sure to add Between the Stars and Sky to your Goodreads HERE